House Makeover Challenge – Week 1: Cleaning

I.am.exhausted. I just finished cleaning our spare room that turned into a storage room or tambakan of all sorts of things we kept for some reason. I got 6 large bags of trash out of that room aside from the empty boxes of appliances we bought over the years. Why did we keep those boxes? I think we thought we would only be staying for a short time in this house and we needed the boxes so it would be easier to move things when we move out again. Ha! It looks like we’re not going anywhere soon.

I admit we have a love-hate relationship with this house. It’s a very tired-looking, very old house that is in baaaad need of updating and repair. I am always surprised after a storm that the roof has not been blown away. Thank God! You’re probably wondering why the owner is not taking care of the repairs. We’re wondering the same thing. Maybe because the house is livable. I mean the roof hasn’t collapsed on us or anything.

On the other hand you know however unattractive this house is we are grateful that we have a roof over our heads. It may not be ours but we can make it our own in other ways, make it look decent enough. Actually, that was the first reason why I started this blog – to document our house makeover as a tenant. But when I started that a couple of years back, I was just overwhelmed with frustration. I felt this house is beyond a makeover.

broom

But I may be wrong. So now I’m trying again. Task 1: Clean the storage room is done! And here’s a cleaning tip: divide and conquer. Divide the room into quarters. Focus on cleaning/sorting one quarter first and then move on to the next. I find this gets the job done easier instead of attacking the clutter randomly. My next task is to check on new furniture and kitchen tiles. I’ll let you know how it goes!

Photo credit: cybertoad / Foter / Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 2.0 Generic (CC BY-NC-ND 2.0)

Leave a comment