Bacon and Egg Toast Cups for Two

Some days I need a quick breakfast, on other days I can have fun with it. I have this fun breakfast recipe pinned on Pinterest (but of course!) for a while now and so I was so excited when I had the chance to make it one morning. It’s not complicated at all. It just has a few steps to it. Since, I’m making breakfast for just me and my husband (who quit his stressful job weeks ago…yay!), I made just 4 pieces.  Here’s the original recipe on the Martha Stewart site for 6 servings.

Bacon and Egg Toast Cups for Two

Ingredients
3 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted
4 slices sandwich bread
4 slices bacon
4 eggs
salt and pepper

Note: You will also need a standard muffin pan. I used a 6-cup pan, leaving the middle cups empty.

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to  375 F degrees (190 C). Butter the muffin pan cups.

2. Make the bread cups: Flatten the bread slices. You can use a rolling pin or, like me, just use your hands to press down the bread. Next, you want to cut a circle out of the bread slices. You can do this with a 4 and 1/4-inch cookie cutter. I didn’t have this (pardon my very incomplete kitchen!), so I used a small bowl to help me trim the bread to a decent round shape. Resourcefulness, folks.

collage_breadrounds

Once you have the rounds all cut out, slice each round in half. Take two halves and press them down into each muffin cup. They will overlap a little bit but if you have a bigger pan, you might have a gap in the middle. Use extra bread to cover any gaps. Brush the bread cups with butter.

breadcups

3. In a skillet over medium heat, cook the bacon but not all the way through since it will continue cooking in the oven.

4. Assemble toppings: Put a slice of bacon on each cup. Now, the fun part. Crack one egg over each of the cup. Season with a little salt.

add bacon
crack eggs

5. In the oven, they go. Bake for 20 minutes. When done, take out of the oven, loosen the cups by a running a small spatula around them. Transfer to a plate and munch away!

bacon & eggs toast cups

Leave a Reply

