Roasted Strawberries

Strawberries are not widely available here in the Philippines and as far as I know it is only grown in the mountainous provinces of Baguio and Benguet, which are in the northern part of the country and at least 6 hours away from Manila. This makes strawberries expensive to us lowlanders!

strawberryfield

A strawberry farm in La Trinidad, Benguet

Photo credit: ~MVI~ (warped) / Foter.com / CC BY

So a few weeks back, when I was experimenting with flavors for overnight oats and wanted to use fresh strawberries, it was a good thing I found some in a grocery store but they cost P93 for about 200 grams. In Farmer’s Market in Cubao, you can get them for P8-10 less depending on your haggling skills.

Anyway, after I bought the strawberries I changed my mind and thought to make my own strawberry jam. My search for a recipe led me to desserts with roasted strawberries. Just the sound of it excited me! I’ve never roasted fruit before. Apparently there are many ways to roast strawberry. Some put lemon and maple syrup and others add red wine, olive oil and balsamic reduction. I wanted to keep it simple. I just want to zap the berries!

So I sliced them, covered a baking sheet with parchment paper and spread out the strawberries on top, drizzled them with 1 1/2 tablespoons of honey and sprinkled some brown sugar on top.

And I just remembered now that I forgot to add some vanilla! Next time, next time. Then, I popped them in the oven preheated at 175 C. I loved the wonderful smell of the strawberries while they were roasting. After 25 minutes, they came out dark red and beautifully roasted. Delicious!

roasted strawberries

Add to yogurt, oatmeal or frozen desserts (like what I did) or simply spread on toast! I’ll definitely make some more. 🙂

2 responses to “Roasted Strawberries

Leave a Reply

