Homemade Sugar-free Mayo

Still in sugar-free mode. I can’t believe I’ve lasted almost a month now without sugar! It takes all the strength in me to resist all the sweet stuff we have at home — I mean fudgy bars, dark chocolate bars, cake slices, ensaymada, caramel popcorn, and my absolute fave coconut biscuits! So, when I wanted to make coleslaw, I skipped the usual dollops of Lady’s Choice Real Mayo (yes it has sugar) and decided to make sugar-free mayo instead. I mean no way am I going to ruin my sugar-free streak because I ate coleslaw with commercial mayo! When I have sugar again (yeah yeah in moderation of course), it will be in either cake or ice cream form! Until then, sugar-free mayo it is!

All you need are:

1 large egg
1 tbsp freshly squeezed lemon juice
1 cup olive oil or canola oil
1 tsp mustard powder
salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

1. Combine egg and lemon juice in a blender or food processor. I used a blender, pulsing for 30 seconds. The mixture will be runny at this point.
2. Add mustard powder.
3. With the blender lid still on, center removed, pour the oil SLOWLY through the hole and continue to blend until the mixture thickens.
4. Season with salt and pepper to taste.
5. Use right away on your fave veggie salad or store in the fridge but be sure to use within a few days.



Enjoy with coleslaw!coleslaw

Leave a Reply

