Losing a Job

A project I’ve handled since 2010 has ended abruptly. I received a very short notice about it a couple of days ago. I sent the last data today and I don’t want to feel sad about it but who am I kidding – I do feel sad! I can’t imagine the sense of loss a person feels who is suddenly laid off from a job that he has had all his life. Of course what I’m going through now doesn’t compare to that at all.

I guess even though this is not the first time and I know this naturally happens when you work on a project basis, I just didn’t see this one coming. It feels like suddenly saying goodbye to a good friend you were just hanging out with yesterday. That project really was good to us, buffered us when Ren was in between jobs.

Thankfully, I still have other projects so I’m not that worried about the loss of income. Also, we have enough savings set aside for things like this. Ah yes, my fellow freelancers and young homemakers and everybody else, this is why it is very important to have an emergency fund! Experts advise saving 3 to 6 months’ worth of your total living expenses because as they say, shit happens.

So maybe I’m just down because of the abrupt change but it’s just a matter of perspective, right? One door closes, another opens kinda thinking is what I need. Change is good, if you want it to be. See it as an opportunity to do something better!

seyed mostafa zamani / Foter / CC BY
3 responses to “Losing a Job

  1. Sorry to hear it 😦 yes all those moving on things are good but it’s vital you watch soppy movies, have a duvet day or two and eat your weight in ice-cream first 🙂

Leave a Reply

